News Release

DFL Environmental Caucus Endorses Rebecca Otto for Governor

DFL Enviro Caucus Endorsement Banner 

Rebecca OttoJanuary 2, 2018--The DFL Environmental Caucus today announced its endorsement of State Auditor Rebecca Otto for Governor of Minnesota.

"Rebecca Otto is a powerful voice for the environment and for a better Minnesota economy," said caucus chair Veda Kanitz. "We wholeheartedly endorse her candidacy for Governor of Minnesota."

Kanitz highlighted Otto's position on climate change as one important factor in the caucus decision. "Otto's visionary Minnesota Powered Plan provides a clear pathway to address climate change, create good-paying jobs in communities across the state, and make Minnesota a leader in clean energy technologies," Kanitz said. "It is an agenda for a new kind of prosperity, one where the economy and the environment work together." Kanitz also noted the candidate's broad appeal among caucus members: "One candidate, Rebecca Otto, rose to the top in our assessment. Candidate Otto distinguished herself with an in-depth understanding of the complex environmental threats Minnesota faces and what we must do to address them. Her long-standing commitment to living her environmental values gave added substance to her words, as did the fact that she put forward a concrete agenda."

Otto expressed her appreciation to the caucus for its endorsement: "The impact of climate change is hitting far sooner and much closer to home than many of us ever imagined and we have a moral obligation to act quickly and decisively to protect our children. I look forward to working with the DFL environmental caucus and all Minnesotans to take on these major challenges in a way that benefits everyone should I have the privilege of serving as our next Governor."

The Environmental Caucus endorsement process involved several steps, including the evaluation of candidate positions on transportation, social justice, climate change, clean water, agriculture, mining, and citizen engagement; and a review of voting records and websites. Candidates Rebecca Otto, Tim Walz, Chris Coleman, Paul Thissen, Erin Murphy, and Tina Liebling were considered.